In the Name of God, Most Gracious, Most Merciful


Hijri calendar - is an Islamic lunar calendar based on the cycles of the lunar phase. The year has 12 lunar months and lasts 354 or 355 days.

The Islamic lunar calendar is shorter than the tropical (solar) year and therefore it shifts by about 10 or 11 days.

The first Islamic year is the year 622 (CE) in which our prophet Muhammad (PBUH) migrated from Mecca to Medina, its the journey known as the “Hijra” and marks the beginning of the Islamic calendar.

The current Islamic year is 1434.

Islamic lunar calendar months

  1. Muharram
  2. Safar
  3. Rabi’ al-Awwal
  4. Rabi al-Thani
  5. Jumada al-Ula
  6. Jumada al-Ukhra
  7. Rajab
  8. Sha’ban
  9. Ramadan
  10. Shawwal
  11. Dhu al-Qa’dah
  12.  Dhu al-Hijjah

Alhamdulillah (Praise to God).

4 Responses to Hijri calendar (Islamic calendar)

  1. Mohammed Ghouse Shareef says:


  2. husen ibrahim says:

    Very nice

  3. H. M. Fahad says:

    Thank you.

  4. Umar Mydeen says:

    Nice Info. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>